Upgrading Ubuntu 7.10

Upgrading Ubuntu 7.04 to 7.10 caused much fewer pain than upgrading former releases. But there where still some issues to fight with.:

cryptdisk

Ubuntu 7.10 didn’t ask for my passphrase to decrypt my partitions after upgrade. After startup was able to run /etc/init./cryptdisks again and entering my passphrase. I found a workaround here

slimserver

I’m a proud owner of a Rokulabs Soundbridge M1001 which works very well in my environment. After upgrading my music server wasn’t recognized by the M1001 anymore.
After hours of reinstalling music server, resetting the Soundbridge I remembered John’s posting about network issues in Ubuntu 7.10 Obviously the problem is not only limited to DNS queries and not every piece of software is compatible with IP v6.

So i disabled IP v6 support in Ubuntu and voila I got my music archive back:

#alias net-pf-10 ipv6
alias net-pf-10 off

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

